The following links are alcoholic beverages that are gluten free; however, manufacturers do change their ingredients, so be sure to read the label and check with the manufacturer.
Lake Front Brewery - New Grist is a winner of the G.F. Beer Festival
O'Brien Brewery - Australia's first gluten free beer is a winner of the G.F. Beer Festival
Redbridge - Sorghum Beer by Anheuser Bush
Ramapo Valley Brewery - Passover Honey Beer is a winner of the G.F. Beer Festival
Greens - U.K. winner of the G.F. Beer Festival
festival is over, but their site is still up and you can view the comments the
judges made on the taste and quality of each
beverage that was submitted for judging in the festival.
Brandy is distilled from pears, raspberries, cherries, peaches and other fruits.
Generally all wine is gluten free, but it is best to check with the manufacture to make sure that there are no glutinous additives incorporated
into the wine and to also ensure that they were stored in gluten free storage tanks. Some wines are aged in barrels that once contained
another substance that could have held a glutinous product. This is rare, but can happen. Also you will want to avoid Wine Coolers. Wine Coolers are NOT Gluten Free, because they contain barely malt.
There is also some concern
with cross contamination with wines that involves the practice of sealing the
barrels with a flour/water paste
that is common with European Union barrel manufacturers. Most US based manufactures currently use a neutral food grade paraffin to
seal the barrels during the construction process, but there are some manufacturers that import and use the flour/water based barrels. I
spoke with the Kendall Jackson winery regarding this subject and what the risks of cross contamination might be when U.S. wineries use imported barrels from Europe and the consultant I spoke with, stated that all barrels used for storing wine go through a cleaning process
in which the barrels are cleaned using a high pressure test with hot water to remove any flour prior to filling. I personally believe any loose
flour would be removed but not all of the hardened paste mixture, therefore, I am hesitant to recommend any brands of wines, except the
ones I have confirmed do not use this process of sealing their barrels. Wines that are almost always made without barrel aging are Whites: Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, Italian Pinot Grigio, Bag-In-The-Box wines; and Reds: Bag-In-The-Box wines. Below is a list
of wines that I have confirmed are gluten free. The more expensive a wine is the more likely it is barrel aged and that is where you could find gluten.
Ingleside - Only the Blue Crab Blanc and Blue Crab Blush, Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc, Rosato de Sangiovese, Viognier, The Rose, and October Harvest.
La Rocca - All wines are not only gluten free, they are sulfite free too
Louis Jadot - Only the Maconnais and Beaujolais are made in stainless cask. Their other wine are made in barrels sealed with water and flour.
generally made from white grapes. The grapes are pressed and then placed into
vats to ferment. Cognac is typically distilled
twice in copper pots, this is called Chauffes. It is then transferred to wooden casks, usually made of oak and then allowed to age.
Cider is an alcoholic
beverage made primarily from the juices of specially grown varieties of apples.
Cider generally has a stronger
alcoholic content than typical beer, usually over 5%. To produce cider, apples are washed and mashed, pressed and then fermented in
oak vats using natural or added yeasts. Not all Ciders are gluten free, because many manufacturers add barley to them.
Woodchuck Draft Cider - Amber, Dark, Dry 802, Granny Apple, Pear, and Raspberry
MASTER OF MIXES
Sweet & Sour Mixer
Tomato Cocktail (Contains Vinegar, avoid if sensitive)
Cream of Coconut
Cream of Coconut
Grappa is made from pressed grapes
Mead is also known as honey wine. It is created from fermented honey. Honey wine can be traced to 1600 AD
Earle Estate Meadery
Rabbits Foot Meadery - Pear, Sweet Mead, Dry Mead, & Port made from Mead & Grappa
Rocky Mountain Meadery
White Winter Mead
created using aniseed, fennel seed and other aromatic plants. It is a considered
a traditional drink of Greece. The traditional
way to drink Ouzo is 1 part Ouzo and 2 parts water, but it can also be mixed with other types of cocktails
Sake is made
from rice, it is milled to remove the husk and then polished to remove the
exterior protein. It is polished to at least 70 %
of its original size. It is then washed and steeped to remove all traces of iodine. The Sake is then steamed and Koji and enzyme is added.
You need to always check the source of Koji, it can sometimes be derived from barley. It takes 2 - 9 months to brew Sake. Always check
with the manufacturer, true traditional sake contains no gluten, but some companies trying to make a cheaper sake add rice syrup and
other flavorings that could contain gluten.
Memokawa Premium Sake
made from the blue agave plant. The blue agave plant is a part of the lily
It takes 7 to 9 years for this plant to mature.
Make sure you check with the manufacturer if you are not sure. Some cheaper tequilas are not made the traditional way and could
contain gluten. Mescal is not the same thing as tequila.
from potatoes, tends to have a smoother taste, than vodka made from grains.
Always check with the manufacturer, most
vodkas are made with grain. The ones listed below are made with potatoes.
Ciroc - Made from French Grapes
Jinro Soju - Not really vodka, but very similar. This company has other G.F. Items also
The Gluten Free Kitchen© 1996 - 2007
All Information is copyrighted; you must get prior consent before publishing any info found on this site
This site was last updated
09/17/07 06:57 AM
Site Created and Maintained by Lucy Shriver